Issues:

Sometimes my concentration is not there at night, after I have worked whole day in the office. Unexpected things, like phone calls from my love one. Fall asleep, because of tiredness. Deal with day-job work, because things have to be done in different timezones.

On-going solutions:

Move on and Relax: When I lack of concentration to do my projects, I will take some time off at night to get some rest – perform some relax activities and share your time with others, such as chatting or watching TV with my family. Is it a time inefficient for my project? Yes. On the other hand, this is a great family time – utilize it – as I do not require great deals of concentration for catching up with friends/family or relaxation. It is much better than forcing myself to work on the projects and being unproductive. Ideal schedule: I keep my ideal schedule in my calendar and execute it. This is important even if I know the issues may affect my execution of the schedule. It still gives me a target to aim for, and I could base on this schedule to review my performance. Communicate: Tell my family and love one that you have a time-slot that you want to work with the projects. Schedule some other time to talk to them. Day-job work in a time-slot: I do not see a problem if it has to be done. I focus those tasks in a block of time – don’t spread out, otherwise it will take whole night. Review hit and miss: Every week or month, review my progress – Was it going well with my ideal schedule? Did I push myself too hard? Do I need to adjust more of my second life to be more relaxing?

Do you pursue your passions at night? How do you balance your life, work and passions?