Oh, how wrong I was. After trying one or seven of these fabled entities myself, I was a convert. I also discovered that they can be of a far higher quality than I ever imagined, which we’re going to see through the collection of 20 mug cake recipes I’ve compiled for you. As an added bonus, they’re one thing that won’t disappoint you when they’re finished in three minutes.

1. Nutella Mug Cake

Recipe Source: Be What We Love This is so beautiful that I almost shed a tear. It also puts my after school Nutella sandwiches to shame.

2. Double Lemon Mug Cake

Recipe Source: The Boomer Brief I have to admit that prior to writing this article, I always considered mug cakes as something one used primarily for chocolatey treats. This double lemon number has certainly proven me wrong. It’s zesty, fresh and the perfect accompaniment for afternoon tea. It even has the teacup to match!

3. Cinnamon Roll Mug Cake

Recipe Source: Cooking Classy It’s winter here in Australia, which makes it the perfect time for warm, sugary snacks. Perhaps it’s just me, but I’ve always equated cinnamon with cold weather, so this mug cake is particularly mouth watering to me right now.

4. Chocolate Espresso Mug Cake

Recipe Source: Kurryleaves You guys should know by now how my heart is set aflutter by the combination of chocolate and coffee. Also, it’s in a mug, so the caffeine hit absolutely makes sense.

5. Peanut Butter Mug Cake

Recipe Source: Kirbie’s Cravings In addition to being delicious, a peanut butter mug cake is great because most of us are guaranteed to always have the main ingredient lying around in our cupboards.

6. Chocolate and Salted Caramel Mug Cake

Recipe Source: Babble If anyone thinks that salted caramel has been overused in mainstream foodie society, I say try this. You’ll be back on the band wagon soon enough.

Recipe source: No. 2 Pencil I realize that this isn’t strictly a mug cake, but … how could I resist such a classic dessert that’s still in a cup? My argument is that it comes out soft and has a texture that’s closer to a cake than a cookie, so it counts. Also, just look at it!

8. Choc-Orange Mug Cake

Recipe source: Pixi Wishes Chocolate and orange is my favorite flavor combination after coffee and chocolate. As such, how was I to resist this? It’s like a soft jaffa in my mug!

9. Strawberries and Cream Mug Cake

Recipe Source: Babble Perfect for a Sunday afternoon in the sun!

10. S’more Mug Cake

Recipe Source: Kirbie’s Cravings Seeing as it’s summer in the Northern Hemisphere, that makes it the perfect time for s’mores! If you don’t plan on camping anytime soon though, cheat by making a mug cake!

11. Banana Mug Cake with Coffee Ice Cream

Recipe Source: Love Swah Look, I know this whole “coffee in everything!” mentality is becoming a problem for me, but at least it’s a delicious one! Also, banana and coffee are an amazing combination, so I couldn’t leave it off the list!

12. Vegan Sweet Potato Mug Cake

Recipe Source: Oh, My Veggies Because cake can be delicious and healthy.

13. Moist Very Vanilla Mug Cake

Recipe Source: Table for Two Vanilla doesn’t have to be boring, especially when it’s this delectable and moist. Yes, I’ve said “moist” three times now.

14. Moist Chocolate Mug Cake

Recipe Source: Table for Two Make that four times. Also, just look at that bad boy. Damn.

15. Coconut and Lime Mug Cake

Recipe Source: Kirbie’s Cravings This tasty treat laughs at the idea that cakes are heavy, cold weather food. Seriously, it was made to be refreshing in those warm summer months.

16. Chocolate Peanut Butter Mug Cake

Recipe Source: The Novice Chef We’ve had a peanut butter entry and more than one chocolate one. I simply had to bring these two lovers together, where they belong.

17. Pancake Mug Cake

Recipe Source: Kirbie’s Cravings Cake. It’s what’s for breakfast. I think I may be in love with this woman.

18. Brownie in a Cup

Recipe Source: No. 2 Pencil Brownies may be my favorite chocolate treat. I love them even more when they’re ready in mere minutes!

19. Chocolate Peppermint Mug Cake

Recipe Source: Yum & Yummer It’s beginning to taste a lot like Christmas.

20. Pizza Mug Cake

Recipe Source: Kirbie’s Cravings Yeah, you read that correctly. Who said that cake couldn’t be savory? Featured photo credit: The Little Owl Shop via 2.bp.blogspot.com

Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 16Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 96Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 28Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 5Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 5Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 41Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 22Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 31Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 41Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 72Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 47Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 63Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 14Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 52Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 83Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 99Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 2Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 14Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 29Sweet Treats In 5 Minutes  20 Mug Cake Recipes That Get Us Drooling - 1