Yet in all these times of travelling, there is one little thing that has made me feel lighter as I face many challenges far away from my homeland: that is, strangely, the mistranslated signs and instructions that appear in airports, hotels and pubic transports. And I am saying this without the slightest hint of sarcasm. As a bilingual myself, I know that the authors of these mistranslated signs actually know more languages than I do. And every time as I speak to them, I learn more about their cultures and language habits. I have a strange feeling of familiarity in an unfamiliar land. Here are some examples of mistranslation around the world that may speak your heart and lighten up your day.

Job searching is frustrating sometimes.

Job recruitment advert for Nok Air airline, Thailand:

The world confuses me every day.

Seoul:

I am sick of the technology.

Ethiopia: Do not open the Window.

Sometimes I just can’t pull myself to face this crazy world…

Brunei: Please call quiet, people may sleep.

I am disoriented.

Lobby shop in Kuantan, Malaysia:

And I don’t even know how I feel every day.

Bangkok, Thailand:

Even toilets appear to be extremely dangerous:

Colombo, Sri Lanka: Japan: Gaspe Peninsula, Canada:

I just don’t know what I should do to save myself in this crazy world.

Finally an example from London, UK: Hope that the examples above have lightened up your day. Yet, they mean much more for me. Behind all these mistranslated lines, I can see my experiences and the friends I have met in this world of immense beauty and diversity.